Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Slapping the Backboard Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse


Latest Topics Latest Topics Module
Collapse


X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Slapping the Backboard

    After watching three college games this weekend in which I'm 99%+ certain the officials in one case, an assistant coach in one case and announcers in two cases (plus hundreds of fans) all got it wrong, please outline very clearly what can and cannot be ruled when a defender slaps the backboard on an opponent's field goal attempt. This may be the most misunderstood rule in basketball. Also, please articulate any differences between high school and college basketball on this topic.

  • #2
    High school, if the official feels that the player is attempting to block the shot there is no violation for slapping the backboard. Piketon played a regular season game at Ohio University Chillicothe against Vinton county. OUC has the backboards that come off of the floor. Several times players slapped the backboard attempting to block the shot causing that backboard to sway violently sending the ball off of the rim! lol

    Comment


    • #3
      Not an official, but I've been told that if the rim, backboard, etc. are slapped violently enough that it affects the ball in contact with the rim or backboard, then a basket can be awarded or a technical assessed. Is not called very often. Now, many times you'll see a player on a breakaway with a defender following and the ball is blocked off the backboard and the player hits the backboard. This IS legal play. As long as the ball is blocked BEFORE it hits the backboard. Obviously if the ball comes off the board and is blocked, then it's goaltending. I think fans get confused in the heat of the moment.

      Comment


      • #4
        Slapping the backboard in and of itself can never be goaltending and a basket cannot be awarded. If the defender attempts to block the shot and hits the backboard, no matter how hard, it is nothing. No violation. If the defender slaps the backboard without a legitimate attempt to block the shot, he can be assessed a technical foul. Maybe someone can cut and paste word-for-word this rule. While we're at it, someone can cite the blocking a shot before and after the ball hits the backboard (and the difference between high school and college on this type of play).

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by 14Red View Post
          Not an official, but I've been told that if the rim, backboard, etc. are slapped violently enough that it affects the ball in contact with the rim or backboard, then a basket can be awarded or a technical assessed. Is not called very often.
          Not true. You can never award points for slapping the backboard even if it vibrates so violently that it causes the ball to not enter the basket. Slapping the backboard does not meet the definition of either goal tending or basket interference,

          A technical foul can only be assessed if the official judges that the slap was not a part of a legitimate attempt to block the shot



          Originally posted by 14Red View Post
          As long as the ball is blocked BEFORE it hits the backboard. Obviously if the ball comes off the board and is blocked, then it's goaltending. I think fans get confused in the heat of the moment.
          Not true under high school rules. If the ball is still on the way up and it is not in the cylinder, it is not a violation to touch the ball after it hits the backboard

          Comment


          • #6
            From thee NFHS 2008-2009 Points of Emphasis.....

            SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD.
            The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that "intentionally slapping or striking the backboard" is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

            Comment


            • #7
              We had a varsity player drive to the basket and put up a high floater that came off the backboard above the white square on the backboard and the defender in an attempt to block the shot (Lebron couldn't have reached this shot at its apex! lol) However, the backboard swayed and the ball rolled out.

              This is something, IMO that the nfhs needs to look into.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by hookshot View Post
                After watching three college games this weekend in which I'm 99%+ certain the officials in one case, an assistant coach in one case and announcers in two cases (plus hundreds of fans) all got it wrong, please outline very clearly what can and cannot be ruled when a defender slaps the backboard on an opponent's field goal attempt. This may be the most misunderstood rule in basketball. Also, please articulate any differences between high school and college basketball on this topic.
                NCAA
                Basket interference occurs when a player causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder.

                I always refer to this as the Bobby Knight rule. This is the play that happened the night Ted Valentine ejected Knight while calling 3 technical fouls on the General. The ball was on the rim when the backboard was snapped. Knight wanted BI but didn't get it, which was the correct call at that time. The rule was changed later.

                Under NFHS rules, this play is nothing.

                Under NCAA and NBA rules, if the ball is touched above the rim by a defender after it touches the glass, it's goaltending. As was stated, it's only GT in HS basketball if the ball is on it's downward flight with a chance to go in.

                Comment

                Working...
                X