JJHuddle’s Ohio Wrestling Honor Roll: Bucknuts Weekly Athlete & Team of the Week Award Nominees…Vote Now!


Bucknuts & JJHuddle Ohio HS Weekly Awards

This winter we are pleased to announce that JJHuddle and Bucknuts have partnered together to again award weekly player and team of the week honors in ice hockey, boys & girls swimming, boys & girls bowling and wrestling.

Each week (regular and postseason) during the winter sports seasons, we will hold a fan-generated contest on JJHuddle to tab a weekly Team and Player of the Week in each sport. Each weekly winner will receive a personalized award from JJHuddle and Bucknuts.

How it works?
A thread soliciting nominations will be posted/stuck in each sports JJHuddle Forum each week. Fans will then nominate top performances. We will announce the weekly finalists (up to 10) on JJHuddle every Tuesday and voting will be conducted in a special JJHuddle forum. Voting will cease at noon on Monday, after which the winners will be announced.

Vote Now on this week’s nominess…



*Seth Beard, Napoleon (VOTE)
Senior won his program’s first state title and was named most outstanding wrestler in D-II after winning the 120 title. Beat three-time state champion Tylaer Warner of Claymont in the semifinals. Four-time state placer.

*Ben Sullivan, National Trail (VOTE)
Junior became his school’s first state champion in wrestling with a 7-0 win in the D-III 220 final. Finished second in 2014.

*Matt Adams, New Lexington (VOTE)
Senior became the school’s first wrestling state champion with a pin in the D-I 285 finals. Also became only the third state champion in Muskingum Valley League history.

*George Clemens, Wayne Trace (VOTE)
In addition to becoming his school’s first state finalist in wrestling also won the program and Putnam County’s first state title with a 2-1 win in the D-III 126 final.

*Alex Marinelli, Graham (VOTE)
Senior and Iowa recruit won his 200th career match and became the 28th wrestler in state history to win four state titles with a 15-7 victory in the D-II 170 final.

*Ana Abduljelil, Whitehall-Yearling (VOTE)
Senior became his school’s first state champion since 1960 when he won the D-I 113 title.

*Ben Darmstadt, Elyria (VOTE)
Senior became program’s first two-time state champion when he won the D-I 195 title.

*Jack Harris, Urbana (VOTE)
Became program’s first state champion with a state title in D-II at 195.

*Logan Lacure, Dayton Christian (VOTE)
Finished the season unbeaten and won his third state title with a 9-4 win in the D-III 145 final.

*Kaleb Romero, Mechanicsburg (VOTE)
Junior won his third state title and finished unbeaten with a 15-0 TF win in the D-III 160 final.


*Graham (VOTE)
After becoming the first program in state history to have wrestlers go 13-0 in first round state meet matches on the opening day, the Falcons wrapped up their 16th straight D-II state title on Day 2 with 200.5 points (which provided a 143 point lead with a day of comp left).

*Delta (VOTE)
The panthers won their sixth state title and second in three years in D-III.

*Olentangy Liberty (VOTE)
The Patriots tied the best finish ever by a D-I Central District team at the state tournament by placing third. In addition to state champion Kyle Lawson (160), Liberty also had a state runner-up, two wrestlers place third and another finish fourth.

*Central Crossing (VOTE)
The Comets produced the first two state champions in sophomore Jaden Mattox and senior Kameron Teacher, Central Crossing who won D-I titles at 132 and 285, respectively. Teacher ended the season 47-0 and was named the most outstanding wrestler in D-I. Senior Jackson Lasko finished fourth at 113 and senior James Wimer was fifth at 138. The Comets finished fifth in the DI team standings.

*St. Edward (VOTE)
The Eagles won their 30th state title in D-I.

*Elyria (VOTE)
The Pioneers finished state runner-up in D-I for the second straight season.



One thought on “JJHuddle’s Ohio Wrestling Honor Roll: Bucknuts Weekly Athlete & Team of the Week Award Nominees…Vote Now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *