Franklin’s Kennard awarded Ohio National Guard JJHuddle Ohio Boys BKB Player of the Year Trophy


The year-end competition for the Ohio National Guard JJHuddle Ohio HS Boys Basketball Player of the Year ended in March and Franklin’s Luke Kennard was the overwhelming winner. Recently Kennard, who has committed to Duke, was presented his hardware. Over 96,800 votes were cast and Kennard had over half…


Ohio National Guard JJH Ohio Boys BKB Player of the Year

Winner: Luke Kennard, jr., Franklin

Celebrated prospect was named the National Guard JJHuddle Ohio High School Boys Basketball Player of the Year (generated over 50,000 votes) on March 23 and committed to Duke (over Ohio State and Kentucky) the next day. That came on the heels of being named Ohio’s AP Mr. Basketball winner. A two-time SWBL Southwestern Division Player of the Year, Kennard broke Franklin’s single-game scoring record three times this season, the last of which was his highest (a 59-point effort against Monroe). Kennard averaged 41.1 points, 10.7 rebounds and four assists. He scored over 50 three times and under 30 twice. Kennard enters his senior season with 1,910 points. He is Franklin’s career leader in rebounding and 3-pointers. Votes: 50,010

kennard_ftth_jjhPicture Taken at Flyin to the Hoop

Runner-Up: Peyton Aldridge, sr., LaBrae

Davidson commit became his school’s all-time leading scorer this season when he surpassed 1,548 career points. The previous record-holder? His mom – Lisa (Kuszmaul) Aldridge who set it in 1980. Called the “state’s most complete player” earlier this year by JJHuddle senior basketball writer Kurt Stubbs after a 34-point, 13-rebound, 9-steal game against Windham. Votes: 31,017

Third Place: Elijah Kahlig, sr., Fort Recovery

Findlay recruit is a four-time All-Midwest Athletic Conference selection (three-time first team) and the 2014 MAC POY. Averaging 21.7 points, 7.6 rebounds and 2.4 assists. Averaged 19.3 points as a junior. Votes: 7,913


Week 1: Trey Smith, Delphos Jefferson
Week 2: Luke Kennard, Franklin
Week 3: Tyler Flanigan, Glen Este
Week 4: Colton Linkous, Tri-Village
Week 5: Connor Kern, Pickerington Central
Week 6: Patrick Bain, Bethel
Week 7: Wes Gerhardt, Lakewood
Week 8: Matt Seitz, McDonald
Week 9: Michael Howard, Grove City Christian
Week 10: Brennan Czuchran, Buckeye Local


*Winners receive a personalized banner from the Ohio National Guard & JJHuddle.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *