North-South split OHSFCA Football Classic Games; Complete Box Scores


69th Annual Ohio North-South Classic

Clinton-Massie’s Wolf, Kenton’s Sawmiller lead South to 28-27 OT win over North in Ohio North-South Classic

DAYTON – Clinton-Massie’s Bayle Wolfe scored on a 1-yard run in overtime and Columbus Bishop Hartley’s Colin Ballinger added the decisive extra point as the South beat the North 28-27 in overtime in the 2014 Ohio North-South Classic Division IV-VII on Saturday at Welcome Stadium.

It was the first overtime contest in the history of the Ohio North-South Classic, the longest-running high-school all-star game in the nation.

After Wolf scored to put the South up 28-21, Black River’s Andrew Vaughn answered with a 10-yard touchdown run for the North to make it 28-27. However, the South stuffed the North’s two-point conversion run to seal the victory.

Kenton’s Justin Sawmiller was named the game’s Most Outstanding Player. Sawmiller had five catches for 112 yards, including a one-handed, 6-yard TD catch from Centerburg’s Tyler Stoyle in the second period to give the South a 21-14 lead.

Wolf also threw a 5-yard TD pass to Shane Roy in the first quarter and was named the South’s Offensive MVP. His Clinton-Massie teammate, linebacker Kelson Gauden, was named the South’s Defensive MVP.

Columbiana Crestview’s Collin Gilbert was the North’s Offensive MVP. He threw a 61-yard touchdown pass to Huron’s Cody Thompson with 3:45 left in the fourth quarter to force overtime. Hillsdale’s Ryan Bee was the North’s Defensive MVP.

Box Score

April 26, 2014

Welcome Stadium
Dayton, Ohio


NORTH 3 0 11 7 6 27
SOUTH 0 14 0 7 7 28


N: FG Scottie Slauterbeck 32, 1:36


S: Shane Roy 5 pass from Bayle Wolf (Colin Ballinger kick), 9:34

S: Akili Taylor 6 run (Ballinger kick), 1:41


N: FG Slauterbeck 32, 5:54

N: Ishmael Hargrove 68 interception return (Sam Kukura run), 3:57


S: Justin Sawmiller 6 pass from Tyler Stoyle (Ballinger kick), 4:29

N: Cody Thompson 61 pass from Collin Gilbert (Slauterbeck kick), 3:45


S: Wolf 1 run (Ballinger kick)

N: Andrew Vaughn 10 run (Run failed)

Rushing: N: Andrew Vaughn 9-57; Collin Gilbert 6-42; Sam Kukura 5-8; David Nutter 1-4; Ishmael Hargrove 1-(minus-6); Hunter Wells 1-(minus-12). S: Akili Taylor 15-27; Jaylon Brown 2-10; Bayle Wolf 7-3; A.J. Ouellette 2-3.
Passing: N: Hunter Wells 7-14-76; Colin Gilbert 2-2-59, TD; Nick Allison 1-6-6; Sam Kukura 0-1-1. S: Tyler Stoyle 13-19-181, TD, INT; Eddie Miller 6-14-65, INT; Wolf 1-1, TD.

Receiving: N: Cody Thompson 4-91; Darien Townsend 4-36, Brandon Poncsak 1-8; Blake Dennis 1-6. S: Justin Sawmiller 5-112; Jaylon Brown 5-47; C.J. Riazzi 4-48; Tyler Sorg 2-11; Shane Roy 1-5; Bayle Wolfe 1-0.

MOST OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Justin Sawmiller (Kenton)
NORTH DEFENSIVE MVP: Ryan Bee (Hillsdale)
NORTH OFFENSIVE MVP: Colin Gilbert (Columbiana Crestview)
SOUTH DEFENSIVE MVP: Kelson Gauden (Clinton-Massie)
SOUTH OFFENSIVE MVP: Bayle Wolf (Clinton-Massie)



Midvew’s Cody Calloway threw a 62-yard touchdown pass to Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary’s Parris Campbell on the final play of the the second quarter to lead the North over the South in the Division I-III game.

Calloway was named the game’s Most Outstanding Player.

Mentor’s Connor Krizancic threw a 9-yard touchdown pass to Stow’s Brian Grove in the first quarter and Mansfield Senior’s Chekiah Washington returned an interception 85 yards for a TD in the second quarter for the North, who led 20-14 at halftime.

Westerville Central’s Jared Drake threw a 5-yard TD pass to Huber Heights Wayne’s Tristan Davis on the opening drive of the game and Zanesville’s Thomas Wibbeler threw a 6-yard TD pass to Wayne’s Trey McFadden in the second quarter to account for the South’s scoring.

North Canton Hoover’s Luke Grandjean, who had an interception late in the fourth quarter, was named the North’s Defensive MVP. Walsh Jesuit’s Mike Knoll, who kicked a 33-yard field goal in the third quarter and had two PATs, was named the North’s Offensive MVP.

Drake was named the South’s Offensive MVP, while New Albany’s Hayden Hatten was named the South Defensive MVP.

Box Score

April 26, 2014

Welcome Stadium
Dayton, Ohio


NORTH 6 14 3 0 23
SOUTH 7 7 0 0 14


S: Tristan Davis 5 pass from Jared Drake (Justin Martin kick)

N: Brian Groves 9 pass from Connor Krizancic (kick blocked)


N: Chekiah Washington 85 interception return (Mike Knoll kick)

S: Trey McFadden 6 pass from Thomas Wibbeler (Martin kick)

N: Parris Campbell 62 pass from Cody Calloway (Knoll kick)


N: FG Knoll 33

Rushing: N: Matt Blasiole 4-20; Ross Gould 2-6; Cody Calloway 2-0; Parrish Martin 1-(minus-1). S: Isaiah Richmond 5-24; Trey McFadden 7-11; Tristan Davis 1-1; D.D. Clark 3-10; Jared Drake 4-(minus-3); Thomas Wibbeler 4-(minus-7).
Passing: N: Connor Krizancic 9-18-73, TD, 2 INT; Cody Calloway 3-8-75, TD; Luke Grandjean 0-1. S: Thomas Wibbeler 9-15-117, 2 INT; Jared Drake 6-9-51, TD.

Receiving: N: Marcus Whitfield 4-31; Marcus Hill 3-28; Parris Campbell 2-60; Derrick Thomas 1-17; Brian Groves 1-9; Zaire Lewis 1-6. S: Dar Stanford 3-40; Tristan Davis 3-39; J.T. McFarland 3-30; Tyler Denton 2-63; Herman Brunis 1-11; Trey McFadden 1-6; Martesse Patterson 1-6; Granger Long 1-6.

MOST OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Cody Calloway (Midview)
NORTH DEFENSIVE MVP: Luke Grandjean (North Canton Hoover)
NORTH OFFENSIVE MVP: Mike Knoll (Walsh Jesui
SOUTH DEFENSIVE MVP: Hayden Hatten (New Albany)
SOUTH OFFENSIVE MVP: Jared Drake (Westerville Central

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *