Ohio High School Wrestling Results: Division I State Placers and Champions

2014FBpvw_contentallfourongawardsThe Ohio High School State Wrestling Tournament contonues to be one of the state’s marquee prep events. A total of 56,000 people attended the three-day event at Ohio State’s Schottenstein Center, including a finals session of 12,767. Here’s what they saw go down in D-I…

jacksm_2014_wrestMassillon Perry’s David Bavery became a four-time placer and two-time champion with a 3-1sv victory over Fairmont’s Josh Parrett. (Photo by Nick Falzerano)


1. Massillon Perry 185.0
2. Perrysburg 90.5
3. Marysville 77.5
4. Oregon Clay 77.0
5. Brecksville-Broad. Hts. 70.5
6. Cuy. Falls Walsh Jesuit 63.5
7. Lakewood St. Edward     51.0
8. Cin. Arch. Moeller 48.5
9. Uniontown Lake   43.5
10. Elyria 42.0
11. Wadsworth  41.5
12. Cin. St. Xavier  40.5
13. Loveland   34.0
14. Centerville 29.0
15. Brunswick  25.0
16. Ashtabula Lakeside 24.0
Dresden Tri-Valley 24.0
Mansfield Senior 24.0
19. Cin. Princeton   23.0
Macedonia Nordonia 23.0
21. Gr. City Central Crossing 21.0
22. Mason  20.0
Powell Olen. Liberty    20.0
24. Aurora 19.0
Fremont Ross     19.0
26. Kettering Fairmont 18.5
27. Cin. Colerain    18.0
28. Cin. LaSalle     17.5
29. Bedford 15.0
Hudson 15.0
Troy 15.0
32. Lorain 14.0
Springfield 14.0
34. Ashville Teays Valley   13.0
Mount Vernon     13.0
36. Hilliard Bradley 12.0
Hilliard Darby   12.0
Lancaster  12.0
Madison 12.0
40. Col. St. Charles 11.0
Hilliard Davidson 11.0
Lewis Center Olentangy  11.0


First Place Final
106: Noah Baughman, Wadsworth dec. Tommy Genetin, Massillon Perry 6-3
113: Hayden Lee, Marysville dec. Jose Rodriguez, Massillon Perry 5-2
120: Alex Mackall, Cuy. Falls Walsh Jesuit dec. Jake Newhouse, Massillon Perry 7-4
126: David Bavery, Massillon Perry dec. Josh Parrett, Kettering Fairmont 3-1SV
132: Richie Screptock, Oregon Clay dec. Nick Kiussis, Brunswick 4-3
138: Mike Kostandaras, Cuy. Falls Walsh Jesuit dec. Nick Steed, Massillon Perry 6-4SV
145: Kade Kowalski, Dresden Tri-Valley dec. Trey Grine, Fremont Ross 6-2
152: Casey Sparkman, Massillon Perry dec. Ben Darmstadt, Elyria 11-8
160: Tony Dailey, Massillon Perry dec. A.J. Kowal, Cin. Princeton 6-5
170: Joe Heyob, Cin. St. Xavier dec. Jesse Palser, Mansfield Senior 3-2UTB
182: Rocco Caywood, Perrysburg dec. Matt Stencel, Oregon Clay 7-3
195: Kyle Conel, Ashtabula Lakeside dec. TeGray Scales, Cin. Colerain 3-2
220: Austin Pfarr, Marysville dec. Chalmer Frueauf**, Cin. Arch. Moeller 5-4SV **Disqualfied – Second Place Vacated
285: Andrew Alten, Loveland dec. Conan Jennings, Centerville 3-2

Third Place Finals
106: Devione Edwards, Lorain dec. Jarrod Brezovec, Aurora 5-2
113: Mario Guillen, Perrysburg dec. L.J. Bentley, Lakewood St. Edward 8-1
120: Austin Assad, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. dec. Jon Furnas, Powell Olen. Liberty 9-3
126: Alec Cotton, Uniontown Lake dec. Joshua Wimer, Gr. City Central Crossing 4-2
132: Nolan Whitely, Cuy. Falls Walsh Jesuit dec. Jacoby Ward, Cin. Arch. Moeller 4-1
138: Gavin Nelson, Oregon Clay dec. Tim Rooney, Col. St. Charles 4-3
145: Zac Carson, Uniontown Lake dec. Taleb Rahmani, Marysville 6-2
152: J.P. Newton, Perrysburg dec. Jairod James, Bedford 5-2
160: Nick Stencel, Oregon Clay dec. Michael Coleman, Hudson 6-5
170: Isaac Bast, Massillon Perry dec. Quinton Rosser, Cin. Arch. Moeller 3-2
182: Gabe Dzuro, Lakewood St. Edward dec. Dakota Sizemore, Cin. Arch. Moeller 6-4
195: Kadin Llewellyn, Perrysburg pin Jonathan Jones, Cin. St. Xavier 2:29
220: Alex Woicehovich, Macedonia Nordonia dec. Devin Nye, Springfield 7-6
285: Kevin Vough, Elyria dec. Cale Bonner, Perrysburg 4-2TB

Fifth Place Finals
106: Jarod Bronstrup, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. dec. Zack Donathan, Mason 3-1
113: Shakur Laney, Groveport-Madison dec. Patrick Kearney, Mason 5-2
120: Corey Shie, Cin. LaSalle over Josh Heil, Brunswick default
126: Justin DeMicco, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. pin Giuseppe Penzone, Powell Olen. Liber 4:17
132: Bobby Smith, Hilliard Davidson dec. Nick Boggs, Painesville Riverside 4-2SV
138: David Sparks, Marysville pin Dominick Demas, Dublin Coffman 4:30
145: Bo Ransom, Madison dec. Mike Decesare, Macedonia Nordonia 4-2
152: Andrew McNally, Uniontown Lake pin Jake Conners, Cin. Elder 4:00
160: Austin Strnad, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. tech. fall Alexander Bair, Centerville 19-2
170: Tim Knipl, Wadsworth dec. Jake Stratton, Hilliard Bradley 3-2
182: Matthew Lybarger, Mount Vernon dec. Nate Hall, Lewis Center Olentangy 6-2
195: Josh Murphy, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. dec. Jerry Thornberry, Cin. Arch. Moeller 6-2
220: Stefano Millin, Massillon Perry dec. Parker Knapp, Lakewood St. Edward 3-1SV
285: Alex Dalton, Troy over Nik Urban, Willoughby South default

Seventh Place Finals
106: Alan Hart, Lakewood St. Edward dec. Harry Feuer, Mayfield Vill. Mayfield 7-2
113: Chris Doyle, Green over Garrett Lambert, Strongsville default
120: Moises Guillen, Perrysburg dec. Cameron Lathem, Ashville Teays Valley 5-1
126: Alec Benedetti, N. Royalton maj. dec. Andrew Sams, Cin. LaSalle 11-1
132: Jason Spencer, Massillon Perry dec. Andrew Lieb, Pataskala Watkins Mem. 4-3
138: Adam Salti, Olmsted Falls pin Ryan Montgomery, Madison 2:48
145: Tanner Miller, Lancaster dec. Mario Graziani, Young. Boardman 5-3
152: Kevin Leonhardt, W. Chester Lakota West dec. Robbie Bosley, Wadsworth 5-0
160: Sean Black, Hilliard Darby dec. Scott Deluse, Lancaster 5-1
170: Troy Lang, Brecksville-Broad. Hts. dec. James Caniglia, Loveland 8-4
182: Trevor Parker, Hilliard Darby over Traevon Dickerson, Mansfield Senior default
195: Ross Lonsway, Holland Spring. dec. Yousef Mustafa, Westlake 5-4
220: Andrew Sierawski, Delaware Hayes dec. Garrett Snyder, N. Royalton 5-4
285: C.J. Kinzer, Ashville Teays Valley dec. Josh Burger, Aurora 6-1



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *