Bucknuts JJHuddle Ohio High School Wrestler of the Year: Vote Now!


You vote, you decide…who had Ohio’s best wrestling performance this year? Vote now for the Bucknuts JJHuddle Ohio Wrestler of the Year award. Finalists have been announced and include the following…

Bucknuts JJHuddle Wrestler of the Year Award

Another highly successful wrestling season recently ended with the 77th annual Ohio High School State Wrestling Tournament. Over 56,000 people attended the three-day event at Ohio State’s Schottenstein Center.

Moving forward it’s time to reflect and revisit the 2013-14 campaign. For the first time ever we’re happy to announce that JJHuddle and Bucknuts will present an Ohio High School Wrestler of the Year Award following the state finals.

The Winner will be decided by a fan-generated vote on JJHuddle and will receive a trophy from Bucknuts and JJHuddle.

How it works?
Vote for your favorite Finalist below as many times as you like. Voting will run from now until noon on March 28.

Let the competition commence…


2014 Nominees

Winner will receive a personalized trophy

106: Tyler Warner, so., Claymont (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
43-1 this season
Ranked No. 6 Nationally

113: Hayden Lee, sr., Marysville (Vote Now)

State Champion
Beat defending state champion and nation’s No. 4 ranked wrestler (Perry’s Jose Rodriguez) in the state final
Ranked No. 12 nationally
43-3 this season

120: Garrett Hancock, jr., Troy Christian (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Three-time Finalist
43-4 this season

126: Jarred Ganger, jr., Covington (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Three-time Finalist
27-1 this season

126: Anthony Tutolo , sr., Lake Catholic (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion/three-time Finalist
36-1 this season
Ranked No. 13 Nationally
Survived state’s deepest bracket (D-II 126 included three state finalists)

126: David Bavery, sr., Massillon Perry (Vote Now)

Two-time state champion
Three-time Finalist
Four-time Placer
51-5 this season
Ranked No. 20 Nationally

132: Sammy Gross, sr., Beachwood (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Four-time Placer (Third twice)
37-3 this season

145: Micah Jordan, sr., Graham (Vote Now)

Four-time State Champion
48-0 this season
Ranked No. 1 Nationally

152: Alex Mossing, sr., Toledo Central Catholic (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Four-time Placer
36-3 this season

152: Jacob Danishek, sr., Dayton Christian (Vote Now)

Four-time State Champion
Ranked No 2 Nationally
43-0 this season

160: Alex Marinelli, so., Graham (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
49-2 this season
Ranked No. 11 Nationally

170: Seth Williams, sr., Tiffin Columbian (Vote Now)

State Champion (School’s first ever)
Four-time Placer
41-0 this season

170: Joe Heyob, sr., St. Xavier (Vote Now)

State Champion
50-0 this season
Two-time Placer
Only second St. X state champion ever and first in 24 years

170: Ryan Harris, sr., Beachwood (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Four-time Placer (Third once)
47-3 this season

182: Aaron Adkins, sr., Akron SVSM (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
46-5 this season

285: Billy Miller, sr., Perry (Vote Now)

Two-time State Champion
Three-time Placer
44-0 this season
Ranked No. 13 Nationally



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *