OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame to Welcome 15 New Members

OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame to Welcome 15 New Members

Annual hall of fame banquet to enshrine new class of inductees scheduled for June 14

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio High School Athletic Association Officials Hall of Fame Committee has announced that 15 individuals have been selected for the 2014 induction class into the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame. The induction banquet is scheduled for June 14 in Columbus. Each of the 15 inductees is being honored for significant contributions to interscholastic officiating in the state of Ohio.

While the OHSAA’s Circle of Champions recognizes individuals from various areas who had outstanding careers in high school athletics and have further contributed to interscholastic sports, the Officials Hall of Fame is the only Hall of Fame sponsored by the OHSAA.

“We thank all officials for their service to student-athletes, coaches, schools and other officials and it is an honor to have an Officials Hall of Fame where the best are recognized for their dedication to officiating and outstanding careers,” Beau Rugg, OHSAA Assistant Commissioner and one of the 2014 Hall of Fame inductees, said. “Officiating is a service and it is a joy to recognize these highly respected individuals with induction into the Hall of Fame.”

More information about the Officials Hall of Fame is at: http://www.ohsaa.org/officials/HallofFame.htm

2014 OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Induction Class:

Tim Ahart, Columbus (BB, VB, deceased)

Tom Burton, Columbus (BB, BK, FT, SB)

Bonnell “Barney” Ellis, Akron (BB, BK, SB, VB)

Jeff Diosi, Dover (BB, SB)

Keith Fisher, New Carlisle (BK, SB, VB)

Phil Garcia, Conneaut (BB, BK, SB, FT, VB)

Samuel Gomer, Ottawa (TF)

James Heller, Dover (TF)

John Keener, Athens (BB, BK, SB, FT)

Linda Jarvis Kochan, Munroe Falls (BK, FH, VB)

David May, Elida (BB, BK, SB, FT)

David Nash, Urbana (BK, FT, deceased)

Danner “Beau” Rugg, Columbus (BB, FT)

Steven Trout, Wapakoneta (BK, SB, VB)

Kimberly Zaborniak, Millersport (Administrator)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *