Dyer Straight: Nation’s largest Prep Swimming Invite invades Southwest Ohio

Dyer Straight

By Mike Dyer

Southwest Classic features eight sites, 115 schools, 3,000 swimmers and a school going for its 31st straight title

This upcoming weekend will be exactly one month until the state swimming and diving meet at CT Branin Natatorium in Canton.

Even more difficult to believe is that just two weeks remain in the swimming and diving regular season before the sectional tournaments begin Feb. 3 across the Southwest District.

However, a significant preview of what may be to arrive at the district meet will occur this weekend at the Southwest Classic which is held in multiple locations across the region.

This year marks the 31st anniversary for the largest invitational of its kind in the country. Consider some of these facts about the meet:

Dyer-Column-There are eight preliminary sites overall for diving and swimming – Miami University, Mason Community Center, Mason High School, Milford High School, Trotwood-Madison, Countryside YMCA, Dayton Raider Aquatic Center and West Carrollton YMCA
-Approximately 115 schools will enter
-Over 3,000 swimmers and 150 divers are expected to participate in this year’s Classic.
-The Classic is unique in that swimmers not only compete in high school events but also the longer NCAA and USA Swimming events
– St. Xavier will try for its 31st consecutive boys’ team title and Ursuline is aiming for its fourth consecutive girls’ title.
Mitchell Fry, Ian Jones, Mike Montague, Kevin Mosko and Matt Slabe are among swimmers to watch for the Bombers. Divers to watch for St. X include Drew Fitzgerald, John Paul and Matt Weber.

Ursuline coach Brad Isham said the Classic is a great barometer to see where the Lions are relative to other teams in the area.

“It’s a great time to race after Christmas break where we hit our peak training time so it brings the kids back into the mindset of competing,” Isham said. “…The team very much looks forward to competing in the Classic meet. This is one of the meets they really look forward to from the beginning of the season. They love to compete and this is an opportunity to race the best swimmers in Southwest Ohio. The team competition for the meet really brings all of the girls together and increases their motivation at this point in the season.”

Ursuline, the reigning Division I state champion, has several talented individuals including Emily Slabe (North Carolina signee), Alisabeth Marsteller (Princeton University), Temarie Tomley (Alabama) and junior Sydney Lofquist.

“The competition every year is very strong,” Isham said. “All the swimmers really get up for the meet, which allows for some great races and excitement.  This meet always has some of the top swimmers in the state competing against each other so it is a great preview of the state meet. One of the best qualities of this meet is the great competition individually and for the team title.  Mason has a great team and Centerville will be very good as well.”

Mason coach Mark Sullivan says the two-day meet format prepares teams for the state meet. The prelims each day in the morning is similar to state.

“It really helps them get going in the morning if they want to make it back at night to finals,” Sullivan said. “Plus this meet offers non-high school events that are typically only swam in college. This gives the kids some nice event options instead of always swimming the same high school events.”

Mason is led by senior Zoe Thatcher (Auburn signee), who is the defending champion in the 200 and 500 free. Other standouts include Maureen Sullivan, Elizabeth Troy, Julia Volpenhein, Ashley Volpenhein and divers Sydney Carr and Aubrey Rose.

The diving prelims start Saturday afternoon and the swimming prelims on Saturday morning. The diving finals are at 9 a.m. Sunday at the University of Cincinnati.

Swimming finals will be held at the St. Xavier Keating Natatorium Saturday and Sunday at 6:30 p.m.

Boys Swimmers To Watch

Hassler Carroll, Anderson
Henrik Pohlmann, Beavercreek
Nathaniel Lowry, Centerville
Steven Quarin, Centerville
Jackson Higgins, Dayton Oakwood
Andrew Krueger, Dayton Oakwood
Patrick Mulcare, Dayton Oakwood
Brock Turner, Dayton Oakwood
Wending Zhu, Dayton Oakwood
Ross Westrick, Fairfield
Noah Brackenburg, Indian Hill
Jack Dowling, Indian Hill
Sam Vester, Indian Hill
Tom Golba, Kettering Alter
Joe Warner, Kettering Fairmont
Matthew McDonald, Lakota East
Jack German, Little Miami
Jack Mantkowski, Madeira
Mac Lewis, Mariemont
Sam McManus, Mariemont
Mark Andrew, Middleton
Kevin George, Moeller
Greg Nymberg, Moeller
Noah Worobetz, Moeller
Matthew Marquardt, Seven Hills
Mitchell Fry, St. Xavier
Ian Jones, St. Xavier
Mike Montague, St. Xavier
Kevin Mosko, St. Xavier
Matt Slabe, St. Xavier
Matt Pettit, Springfield Catholic Central
Justin Crew, Springfield Shawnee
Josh Crowder, Talawanda
Scott Richmond, Talawanda
Elias Jay Bell, Tipp City Tippecanoe
Mike Norton, Turpin
Tommy Cope, Vandalia Butler
Mitchel Stover, Versailles
Stephen Barrett, Wyoming
Max Chou, Wyoming
Jonathan Rutter, Wyoming

Boys Divers to Watch

Noah Hickey, Centerville
Mitch Goda, Elder
Trent Hagenbuch, Kettering Alter
Kenny Bottom, Mariemont
Charles Schooler, Mariemont
Phillip Lunt, Fairfield Cincinnati Christian
Cameron Spicer, Loveland
Drew Fitzgerald, St. Xavier
John Paul, St. Xavier
Matt Weber, St. Xavier

Girls Swimmers to Watch

Maddie Eckley, Centerville
Grace Hoffman, Centerville
Emma King, Centerville
Allie Wooden, Cincinnati Country Day
Kendall Hart, Cincinnati Hills Christian
Morgan Massie, Dayton Carroll
Cassidy Fry, Dayton Oakwood
Noelle Kipp, Dayton Oakwood
Sydney Lofquist, Dayton Oakwood
Anna Lynch, Dayton Oakwood
Caroline Lynch, Dayton Oakwood
Ally Mayhew, Dayton Oakwood
Lydia Pocisk, Dayton Oakwood
Katie Sickinger, Dayton Oakwood
Elizabeth Drerup,  Indian Hills
Devin Landstra,  Indian Hills
Grace Stimson,  Indian Hills
Sarah Vester,  Indian Hills
Casey Frazier, Lakota West
Claire Golba, Kettering Alter
Michelle Prayson, Kettering Alter
Casey Frazier, Lakota West
Allison Dicke, Madeira
Leah Dupre, Mariemont
Katie Gaburo, Mariemont
Claire Gilmore, Mariemont
Gabby Marinelli, Mason
Maureen Sullivan, Mason
Zoe Thatcher, Mason
Elizabeth Troy, Mason
Ragen Engel, Springfield Catholic Central
Madelyn Shaffer, Springfield
Marianne Kahmann, Springboro
Hannah Whiteley, Springboro
Cara Norris, Sycamore
Marissa Delgado, St. Ursula
Katie Kerr, St. Ursula
Molly Zilch, St. Ursula
Michelle Zelnick, Troy
Shaylynn Spelman, Turpin
Alisabeth Marsteller, Ursuline
Emily Slabe, Ursuline
Temarie Tomley, Ursuline
Madeline Schaffer, Wilmington

Girls Divers to Watch

Hannah Collins, Bellbrook
Katie Polk, Centerville
Katerine Arnold, Indian Hills
Cassie Wegryn, Indian Hills
Abbey McConnell, Lakota East
Mackenzie McNeil, Mariemont
Madison LeMay, Mariemont
Sydney Carr, Mason
Allison Brophy, Summit Country Day
Andrianna DiMasso, Sycamore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *