2013 Ohio HS State Cross Country Meet Results

2013 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships Recap

OHSAA Reports

HEBRON, Ohio – Five schools added another cross country state championship to their trophy case and one school won its first state title at the OHSAA cross country state championships Saturday at National Trail Raceway. The championships, which were the 85th for boys and 36th for girls, were held at National Trail for the third year and mark one of the largest cross country events in the nation with approximately 10,000 fans in attendance.

The girls side featured all repeat team winners, as Liberty Center took home its third-straight Div. III championship, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary won its fifth-straight title and Mason won back-to-back crowns.

For the boys, McDonald reclaimed the Div. III state title (seventh overall), Div. II Defiance earned its first state championship, and Cincinnati St. Xavier won its second-straight title (fifth overall). St. Xavier’s team point total of 46 point is the second-best in Div. I history, just two points shy of the Div. I record for lowest team score of 44 points set by Kent Roosevelt in 1980.

The day began with the Div. III girls race, where last year’s runner-up, Liberty Center junior Brittany Atkinson, claimed the top spot in 18:31.45. That performance, along with her teammates Paige Chamberlain (ninth place), Jenna Vollmar (22nd place) and Olivia Kundo (30th place), helped lead the Tigers to their third straight championship and third overall, bettering Gates Mills Gilmour Academy 98-110.

In Div. II girls, last year’s fourth-place finisher, Wauseon junior Taylor Vernot, crossed the finish line first in 18:04.40. Two SVSM runners finished in the top 10 to pace the Irish to their fifth-straight title, led by sophomore Rachel Iacofano (sixth) and senior Julia Mendiola (10th). SVSM were 18 points better than runner-up Bay Village Bay, 101-119.

After placing third last year in the Div. I race, Cincinnati St. Ursula Academy junior Annie Heffernan rose to the top Saturday, winning in a time of 18:13.90. A pair of Mason underclassmen led the Comets to the winners podium, as sophomore Leah Ford and freshman Ellie Brush finished 14th and 15th, respectively. The Comets held off runner-up Beavercreak, 76-107.

In the Div. III boys race, McDonald senior Bobby Johnson was the top returning runner in the field (fifth last year), and he pulled away from the pack to win in a time of 15:45.48. Classmate Allan Coviello placed 24th to help lead the Blue Devils back to the title for the seventh time, which trailed only Caldwell (nine) for most cross country titles in OHSAA history. In the closest team competition of the day, McDonald totaled 94 points to top runner-up Maplewood, 94-103.

Thornville Sheridan senior Matt Bromley was Div. II’s top returner (third last year) and he took over the top spot Saturday in a time of 16:04.58. After finishing second overall last year, three Defiance runners finished in the top 20 to lead the Bulldogs to their first state title. Senior Alex Barrientos was 13th, senior Nate Wichman was 16th and senior Garrett Wiles was 20th as Defiance was 33 points better than runner-up Tipp City Tippecanoe, 107-140.

While the Div. I boys race was dominated by St. Xavier runners, it was Boardman senior Mark Hadley that finished first overall in 15:10.63. Five St. Xavier runners finished in the top 20, led by seniors Michael Hall and Evan Stifel, who were fourth and fifth, respectively. Behind the Bombers’ 46 points, Dublin Jerome finished second with 105.

2013 Ohio High School Cross Country State Meet Results



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *