2013 State Cross Country Previews, Qualifiers and Schedule

2013 Ohio HS State Cross Country Championships


11:00 A.M.   Division III Girls

11:45 A.M.   Division II Girls

12:30 P.M.   Division I Girls

1:30 P.M.    Division III Boys

2:15 P.M.    Division II Boys

3:00 P.M.    Division I Boys

State Qualifiers

Division I boys

Division II Boys

Division III Boys

Division I Girls

Division II Girls

Division III Girls

2013 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships Preview (By OHSAA)

Venerable National Trail Raceway in Hebron, Ohio, located about 25 miles east of Columbus, will host the OHSAA cross country state championships Saturday for the third-consecutive year. With a total seating capacity of 9,500 in its two grandstands, a three-story building with suites and ample parking, the site has already proven to be an excellent choice since the OHSAA left longtime host site Scioto Downs.

The championships are now in their 85th year for boys and 36th year for girls, making it one of the OHSAA’s longest tenured state championships. With crowds averaging almost 10,000 every year, it is one of the largest cross country events in the nation.


If traveling from the west, take Exit 122 off I-70, turn left onto Outville Road (State Route 158), then in one mile turn right onto National Road. (Note that Exit 122 Outville Road/State Route 158 is closed). If you are coming from the east, take Exit 126 off I-70, turn right onto Lancaster Road (State Route 37), then in one mile turn left onto National Road. Note that school transportation vehicles coming from the west should proceed to exit 126 so that they park in Lot A for participants.

Division I Girls

Defending state champion Mason is back, but with only two girls who were a part of the Comets’ dominating 2012 state championship team (42 points), which marked their first state title. On their heels will be last year’s state runner-up, Centerville (142 points), which has three runners back. Defending individual champion Jacquelyn Crow, a senior from Lebanon, is back after winning in 2012. Also back from last year’s Top 7 is Annie Heffernam, now a junior, from Cin. St. Ursula Academy.

Division II Girls

Four-time defending state champion Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary is back with four of the runners from the 2012 state championships (53 points). 2012 runner-up Lexington (74 points) has three runners back. Last year, two freshmen crossed the finish line first overall, including Mary Kate Vaughn from Dayton Oakwood first and SVSM’s Rachel Iacofano, who are both back in the field.

Division III Girls

Five girls from Liberty Center’s 2012 state championship team are back in what was a tightly-contested team competition. The two-time defending state champion Tigers, with 101 points, edged runner-up Coldwater (116 points), which has four runners back. Those two squads also produced the first and second-place finishers overall, as Coldwater’s Sarah Kanney, now a junior, took first and Liberty Center’s Brittany Atkinson, also a junior, took second.

Division I Boys

Cincinnati St. Xavier had five seniors on its 2012 state championship team (71 points), which marked the schools’ fourth title, but the Bombers are back again and were ranked No. 1 in the pre-regionals coaches poll. Runner-up Mason (123 points) has three boys back from 2012. Overall, 10 of the first 14 individuals to cross the finish line last year were seniors, including the first three runners, so the individual race is wide open. Chardon senior Nick Elswick is the top returner after taking fourth last year.

Division II Boys

Peninsula Woodridge has won six of the last seven Division II state championships, including last year, and is back with five seniors and two juniors on its squad. It was a close team race last year, though, as Woodridge (83 points) held off Defiance (109 points), which is also back. Thornville Sheridan senior Matt Bromley and Cuyahoga Falls CVCA senior Ben Bockoven are the top returners. They finished third and fifth last year, respectively.

Division III Boys

Attica Seneca East took home its first state championship last year in a close team race against six-time state champ McDonald (101 to 107). Both squads are back with many returning runners from 2012. McDonald senior Bobby Johnson was the only non-senior to finish in the Top 12 last year and is back aiming to lead the pack.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *