All-Ohio Nike City Series Boys Basketball State Championships this weekend


All-Ohio Nike City Series State Championships

The Third Annual All-Ohio Nike City Series State Championships will take place this weekend at Reynoldsburg High School near Columbus. Regional teams from Columbus, Dayton, Akron/Canton, Cleveland, Cincinnati, and Toledo in each age group (9th-12th) will have a chance to stake its claim as state champions. Here are the favorites…

The Third Annual All-Ohio Nike City Series State Championships will take place this weekend at Reynoldsburg High School near Columbus.

Last weekend, each regional site (Columbus, Dayton, Akron/Canton, Cleveland, Cincinnati, and Toledo), had its own event to select all-star teams in each group to travel to Columbus the following week.

Each age group (9th-12th) will have a chance to stake its claim as state champions as there will be a winner in each division.

Columbus has dominated the event for the most part, but look for teams from Cleveland, Toledo, and Cincinnati to make a run this year. The advantage is certainly in the favor of the capital city in terms of travel. For the past two years, almost all of Columbus’ top guys have been able to participate, while other cities have struggled with travel to get all of the best kids at the event.

Columbus swept all the age brackets in 2010, and won three out of four in 2011. Cleveland broke through with a championship in the 9th grade bracket led by Shaker Heights’ Esa Ahmad.

Regardless, the event has been tremendous over the past two year with plenty of intensity and even some pushing and shoving. The idea of All-Ohio director Jerry Watson has turned into one of the fall’s best showcases of talent in the Buckeye state. Kids compete at a high level and show representing their city truly means something.

Here is a look at some of the top guys in each group.

Columbus will have two teams in each age bracket since the turnout at the regional event is so populated.

Toledo rosters were not submitted.

Seth Towns (Columbus Northland)
James Manns II (Marion-Franklin)
Nick Ward (Gahanna Lincoln)
Jordan Kinchen
Jalen Tate (Pickerington Central)
Jelani Rogers (Westerville South)
Kyran McClure (Westerville North)
Bryson London (New Albany)
Terrance Landers Jr. (Dayton Dunbar)
Tre Landers (Huber Heights Wayne)
Rodrick Caldwell (Dayton Stivers)
Derrick Daniels (Thurgood Marshall)
Joey Williams (Dayton Dunbar)
Willie Jackson (Garfield Heights)
Trevell Beck (Cleveland CC)
Derek Funderburk (Lakewood St. Edward)
Brandon Peters (Cleveland CC)
Keith Griffin (Shaker Heights)
Ashon Riggins (Hamilton)
Kobe Brown
Carlik Jones

Favorite: Cleveland

Jordan Dartis (Newark)
Jaquan Harrison (Africentric)
DeMarco Cannon (Springfield)
Seth McCoy (Canal Winchester)
Chris London (New Albany)
Rodney Culver (Pickerington Central)
Corde Donale (Miami Valley)
Grant Zawadzki (Troy Christian)
Xerious Williams (Huber Heights Wayne)
Ahmed Wagner (Huber Heights Wayne)
Brogan Scott (Medina Highland)
Tanner Houska Medina Highland)
Austin Marciniak (Akron Green)
Andrew Francesconi (Tallmadge)
Antwon Lillard (Cleveland CC)
Esa Ahmad (Shaker Heights)
Devon Andrews (Lorain)
Chris Oakley (Brush)
Kyle Stergis (Garfield Heights)
Myo Baxter (Lakota East)
MaCio Teague (Summit Country Day)

Favorite: Cleveland

Manny Powell (Gahanna Lincoln)
Jae’Sean Tate (Pickerington Central)
Ty Hairston (Columbus Northland)
Ronnie Williams (Columbus Brookhaven)
Shemar Waugh (Columbus Northland)
Donovyn Benson (Mansfield Sr.)
Javon Bess (Gahanna Lincoln)
Eric James (Westerville Central)
Dymiere Finch (Walnut Ridge)
Danny Hummer (Upper Arlington)
Jaylen Tucker (Columbus Northland)
Cameron Taylor (Northmont)
Patwuan Hudson (Trotwood-Madison)
Robert Caldwell (Dayton Stivers)
Juan Ford (Huber Heights Wayne)
Dazhontae Bennett (Trotwood-Madison)
Victor Dorsey (Akron Springfield)
Rosel Hurley (Shaker Heights)
Ny Redding (Solon)
Daniel Sapp (NDCL)
Chelvonte Montgomery (Cleveland CC)
Marsalis Hamilton (Lakewood St. Edward)
TJ Steele (Cleveland Benedictine)
Ronnie Rousseau (Winton Woods)
Tyonte Robertson (Withrow)
Blake Simpson (Cincinnati La Salle)

Favorite: Columbus

Randle Clarkson (Columbus Brookhaven)
Wendell Davis (Reynoldsburg)
Aaron Jackson (Gahanna Lincoln)
Kenny Robinson (Columbus Africentric)
Jaylen Benton (Westerville North)
Boo Osbourne (Centennial)
Adrian Cook (Westerville North)
Ellis Williams (Columbus South)
Will Hill (Thomas Worthington)
Lance Leslie (Thomas Worthington)
Crisshawn Clark (Huber Heights Wayne)
Zach Denny (Germantown Valley View)
Keith Richardson (Northmont)
Richard Parker (Garfield Heights)
Dorian Jordan (Cincinnati Princeton)
Tim Coleman (Withrow)
Corey Wise (Withrow)
Austin Grimes (Aiken)
Monty Boykins (Lakota West)
Trent Donald (Winton Woods)
Kwan Cheatham Jr. (Winton Woods)
Kevin Johnson (Summit CD)

Favorite: Cincinnati


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *