JJHuddle State Wrestling Notes: Is the state record for pins in a career in jeopardy?


JJHuddle’s Ohio High School Wrestling Notebook and Wrestlers of the Week

Centerville, Harrison and Mason won Southwest Ohio league titles last weekend, while a certain individual continues to march toward a historic mark.

The Centerville wrestling team has come close to winning the Greater Western Ohio Conference tournament several times in the last five years.

Saturday night at Trent Arena at Fairmont, the Elks finally broke through.

Centerville placed 11 in winning the title with 195 points. Beavercreek – despite a 7-2 final round – finished second with 175.5, just ahead of resurgent Wayne (170).

Fairmont endured some upsets along the way and finished fourth with 153 points.

The Elks were one of four teams with two champs as Brendan Watson (113) and Garrett Conner (195) claimed titles. Watson cruised with a pin in the finals, but Conner won 8-6 over Wayne’s Jarrod Hardrick in a match that ended controversially.

Conner was awarded a takedown and two back-points for a 8-5 lead. Hardrick escaped to cut the deficit to 8-6 as time expired and both wrestlers prepared for overtime. The backpoints came during the scramble when neither wrestler had been given control. Wayne’s coaches argued the call and the officials had a lengthy conversation, however, the call stood.

Fairmont got titles from returning state placers Matt Denlinger (132) and Tommy Kimbrell (170) while Sidney got titles from Cody Davis (126) and Mason Calver (138) and Springfield got titles Darryl Grayson (182) and Devin Nye (220).

Grayson used a takedown to hand returning state placer Brandon Walker a 3-2 defeat in the finals at 182.

Returning Beavercreek state placer Nick Corba survived for a 5-3 win over Miamisburg’s Kyle Schmidt in the finals at 160.

Harrison claims FAVC title: Division I Harrison battled for an 11 point cushion against Division II Ross to claim the Fort Ancient Valley Conference title over the weekend.

Harrison finished with 186 points, while Ross was second with 175 points with Edgewood a distant third with 149.5 points.

Ross and Edgewood each claimed four individual titles while Harrison and Winton Woods had two each. However, the Wildcats had five runner-ups while Ross and Winton Woods had two each and Edgewood one.

Harrison’s 2-5 finals was capped by titles by Thomas Fay (113) and Truman Hutapfel (220).

T.J. Bean got things started for Edgewood with a title at 106. Jordan Puska (120), Josh McIntyre (126) and Adam Moore (170) also claimed titles for the Cougars.

Ross got their first title from Christian Hensley at 132. Joseph Jones (145), Dalton Jones (152) and Tyler Bridewell (195) joined Hensley on top of the podium.

Mason cruises to GMC title: The Comets are soaring at the right time of the season.

Mason scored 195.5 points to win the Greater Miami Conference by 28 points over second place Fairfield.

Lakota East was a distant third with 129 points.

The Comets placed a wrestler in the finals in half of the 14 weight classes, winning five titles. Patrick Kearney (106), Jacob Atrip (113), Jorge Gonzalez (126), Eoin Walden (152) and Adam Quick (285) all claimed titles for Harrison.

Adam Sams (138) claimed a title for Fairfield while Middletown’s Andrew Globke (160) and Princeton’s A.J. Kowal (132) also claimed titles.


Dalton Ishmael, Jr., North Baltimore, 195: Ishmael picked up his 100th
career pin during the weekend and was named the tournament’s Outstanding
Wrestler after pinning Delphos Jefferson’s Collin McConnahea in 1:39 to
win the 195-pound weight class at the Carey Classic. Ishmael – with the
remainder of this season and his senior campaign to go – is 43 pins shy
of the state record set by Derrick Bendau of Mayfield Village

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *