D-III Football Finals Highlight Video: Mooney hangs on for its eighth state football title


Division III State Finals Highlight Video: Youngstown Mooney wins its eighth state title.

Only two teams in history (Cleveland St. Ignatius and Newark Catholic) can lay claim to as many state football titles as Youngstown Mooney. And Springfield Shawnee made the Cardinals earn No. 8. HERE’S HOW IT WENT DOWN…


Youngstown Cardinal Mooney Defeats Springfield Shawnee to Win Eighth State Crown

Cardinals hold off late fourth quarter drive by Braves

OHSAA Reports

CANTON, Ohio – No. 10 Youngstown Cardinal Mooney held off a potential game-tying drive late in the fourth quarter by No. 7 Springfield Shawnee to win the 2011 OHSAA Division III football state championship game Friday at Canton Fawcett Stadium, 21-14. The Cardinals won their eighth state title, tying Newark Catholic for second most all-time team championships.

Mooney (11-3), making its 11th state final appearance, overcame 30 yards in defensive penalties in that last drive and took over on downs with 1:11 remaining in the game on the Cardinals’ 17 yard line. The Cardinals rushed for 220 yards out of 272 total yards of offense. Senior running back Roosevelt Griffin led the Cardinals with 119 yards on 21 carries and one touchdown. P.J. Quinn, Mooney’s senior quarterback, controlled the offense and rushed for two touchdowns. They were led defensively by the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year, Courtney Love, who totaled a team-high 7.5 tackles.

Shawnee (14-1) was led by its senior quarterback , AP Offensive Player of the Year, Brad Jarzab, who was 10 for 29 passing for 122 yards and also rushed for 139 yards and both Braves’ touchdowns.

Entering the game, the crowd expected two high-octane offenses to square off but instead saw a 0-0 tie at the end of the first quarter. The stalemate didn’t last long, however, as Griffin rushed for a score on the first play of the second quarter to cap off a seven-play, 36-yard drive. Shawnee responded three minutes later when Jarzab had a 15-yard scoring run to tie the score 7-7.

The Cardinals responded as Roosevelt and junior running back Justus Ellis-Moore each rushed for 34-yard gains to set up a Quinn touchdown. Leading 14-7, Mooney junior Marcus McWilson then intercepted a Jarzab pass and ran it back before being shoved out of bounds at the Shawnee 18. Quinn eventually found the end zone again to take a 21-7 Mooney lead into halftime.

The third quarter was a repeat of the first quarter performance as neither team was able to put any points up on the scoreboard. With a little over six minutes remaining in the fourth, Shawnee faced a big third and seven when Jarzab was able to connect with junior Alex McCroy for a 13-yard gain. The Braves found the end zone again on a Jarzab seven-yard rush to cut the lead to seven, 21-14. After an unsuccessful onside-kick with 5:38 left, the Braves forced a punt which bounced into the end zone, setting up a 12-play, 63-yard drive that took them down to the Mooney 13. After a costly Shawnee false start on fourth and one, Mooney senior Ryan Farragher deflected a deep end zone pass to help seal the Division III state title for the Cardinals.

The 2011 appearance marked the sixth time in the last eight years the Cardinals have made it to the state finals. They improve their all-time tournament record to 56-17.

Shawnee, which was making its first state appearance, drops its all-time playoff record to 9-5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *