2011 JJHuddle All-Ohio Wrestling Teams


2011 JJHuddle All-Ohio Wrestling Teams

There might not be a harder all-star team to make than the JJHuddle All-Ohio Wrestling Team. Why? Because this state is stacked with talent and there are only 14 slots available. Here’s who earned our All-Ohio honors this year…

The Ohio high school wrestling season concluded this past weekend
with another memorable State Wrestling Tournament at Ohio State’s
Scottenstein Center. Lakewood St. Edward regained the Division I state
title, while Graham captured it’s 11th straight D-II state title. In
D-III, three four-time winners from Monroeville stole the show.

So what can we do for an encore? How about unveiling our 2011 JJHuddle All-Ohio Wrestling Teams.

In addition to revealing all-state teams in each division, we also unveil our all-division All-Ohio team.

This state has several of the country’s top teams and individuals and
that’s reflected in these lists. We dare another state to come up with a
better line-up.

2011 JJHuddle All-Ohio Wrestling Team (All-Division)

* Photos by Nick Falzerano (MVP Magazine/miamivalleysports.com)

103: Nathan Tomasello, So., Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy (Two-time D-III Champion; 43-0)

112: George DiCamillo, Jr., Cleveland St. Ignatius (D-I state champion and three-time placer; 35-0)

119: Dean Heil, So., Lakewood St. Edward (Two-time D-I state champion; 28-2)

125: Stephen Myers, So., Reading (D-III state champion; 49-0)

130: Johnni DiJulius, Sr., Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit (Three-time D-II state champion and four-time finalist; 44-3)

135: Hunter Stieber, Sr., Monroeville (Four-time D-III state champion; 54-0)

140: Cam Tessari, Sr., Monroeville (Four-time D-III state champion; 52-1)

145: Bo Jordan, So., Graham (Two-time D-II state champion; 46-0)

152: Felipe Martinez. Jr., Genoa (D-III state champion and two-time D-II state champion; 23-0)

160: Issac Jordan, Jr., Graham (Two-time D-II state champion and three-time placer; 19-2)

171: Chris Phillips, Sr., Monroeville (Four-time D-III State Champion; 51-0)

189: Alex Utley, Sr., Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy (D-III state champion, three-time finalist and four-time placer; 41-2)

215: Nick Tavanello, Jr., Wadsworth (Two-time D-I state champion and three-time placer; 48-1)

285: Kyle Rose, Sr., Centerville (D-I state champion, two-time finalist and three-time placer; 35-0)

JJHuddle Wrestler of the Year: Chris Phillips, Monroeville

Became first wrestler in history above 160
to win the same weight class all four years. Overall high school record
was 184-1. Headed to North Carolina State.

JJHuddle Coach of the Year: Jeff Jordan, Graham

Won his 10th state title, which ranks third all-time. Team moved two titles shy of matching St. Edward’s record of 13 straight.

JJHuddle Division I All-Ohio

103: David Bavery – Massillon Perry
112: George DiCamillo – St. Ignatius
119: Dean Heil – St. Edward
125: Kagan Squire – Wadsworth
130: Mike Carlone – Mayfield
135: Cody Shivener – Springboro
140: Zach Dailey – Massillon Perry
145: Chase DeLande – Hilliard Davidson
152: Kyle Bryant – Piqua
160: Dominic Abounder – St. Edward
171: Michael Baker – Twinsburg
189: Sam Wheeler – Copley
215: Nick Tavanello – Wadsworth
285: Kyle Rose – Centerville
WOY: Cody Shivener – Springboro… dominating at the state tournament.

JJHuddle Division II All-Ohio

103: Mike Rix – Akron SVSM
112: Ryan Taylor – Graham
119: Micah Jordan – Graham
125: Tyler Hackworth – Oak Harbor
130: Johnny DiJulius – Walsh Jesuit
135: Nate Sckonieczny – Walsh Jesuit
140: Nick Bracscetta- Graham
145: Bo Jordan – Graham
152: Ian Miller – Oak Harbor
160: Isaac Jordan – Graham
171: Cody Ryba – Mantua Crestwood
189: Chaz Gresham – Goshen
215: Travis McIntosh – Miami Trace
285: Riley Shaw – Washington Court House
WOY: Bo Jordan, Graham – most dominant wrestler in the state.

JJHuddle Division III All-Ohio

103: Nathan Tomasello – CVCA
112: Jacob Danishek – Dayton Christian
119: Tyler Heminger – Galion Northmor
125: Stephen Myers – Reading
130: Johnny Matacic – NJJM
135: Hunter Stieber – Monroeville
140: Cam Tessari – Monroeville
145: Dan Orrill – Chanel
152: Felipe Martinez – Genoa
160: Cody Walters – Chanel
171: Chris Phillips – Monroeville
189: Alex Utley – CVCA
215: Ethan Hayes – Dixie
285: Mimmo Lytle – Swanton
WOY: Chris Phillips, Monroeville – see above.

* The All-Ohio Wrestling Teams were chosen by JJHuddle wrestling writer John Cummings and Managing Editor Eric Frantz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *