Saturday’s Regional Finals: Final scores and what we learned – 1999, 13 straight and four out of six


State Playoff Football Scores

The third weekend of the Ohio High
School Football Playoffs is in the books.
Regional Finals
in Division I, III and V were contested Saturday across the state. Upsets?
Yep. Shockers?
Yep? Final Scores? Yep…it’s all here. Click here to see
what we learned Saturday.

Five Things We Learned Saturday: Regional Finals

1. For the first time since 1999, a Dayton team will represent Region 4: For years teams in the Dayton-based Western Ohio League and Greater Western Ohio Conference have struggled to make it out of the Region 4 playoffs and make the state finals in Division I football. Against an unforgiving gauntlet of GCL South and GMC teams, only two Dayton schools have ever made the D-I semifinals – now, however there’s another. For the first time since 1999, a Dayton-area school will play in the D-I semifinals. Huber Heights Wayne, matching a feat it did in 1999, won the Region 4 title with a 28-24 win over Cincinnati St. Xavier at Welcome Stadium. The Warriors finished runner-up to St. Ignatius in 1999, while Centerville was the D-I state runner-up in 1991. The Elks, who Wayne beat in double-OT last week, also lost to Ignatius in the final.

2. Hilliard Davidson’s defense is ridiculous:
Who has the best defense in Ohio? Might be defending D-I state champion Hilliard Davidson. A week after allowing 70 total yards and shutting out Springfield, the Wildcats handled previously unbeaten Pickerington Central 13-6 in the D-I Region 3 final at Upper Arlington. In three playoff games the Wildcats have given up 12 points. They haven’t allowed a team to scored double-figures since Week 3.

3. Coldwater just keeps winning:
We’ll have more on this in our annual Friday Night Highlights segment that will be released Monday, but Coldwater is one win away from making its fourth state final in six years. The Cavs beat previously unbeaten West Jefferson 44-12 in the D-V Region 20 final at Northmont. In regards to Coach of the Year honors statewide this season, few – if any – have done the job Chip Otten has. Make a note of that. 

4. Akron Buchtel is one win away from…its fifth state final but first since 1996. The Griffins, who beat defending D-III state champion Youngstown Mooney 35-10 in the Region 9 final at Ravenna, won D-II state titles in 1987 and 1988 and were state runners-up in 1995 and 1996. Buchtel’s head coach is Ricky Powers who starred on both of Buchtel’s state championship teams before going to Michigan. Powers is in his fourth year as head coach.

5. Youngstown Ursuline has won 13 straight postseason games:
The Irish remained on track for their third straight D-V state title by beating Kirtland 48-0 in the Region 17 final at Aurora. Ursuline outgained Kirtland 635-158 in total yards. The Irish have won 17 of their last 18 playoff games overall.


Division I

Region 1
Lakewood St. Edward 42, Solon 14

Region 2
Toledo Whitmer 14, Toledo St. John’s 10

Region 3
Hilliard Davidson 13, Pickerington Cent. 6

Region 4
Huber Heights Wayne 28, Cincinnati St. Xavier 24

Division III

Region 9
Akron Buchtel 35, Youngstown Mooney 10

Region 10
Columbus Watterson 18, Tiffin Columbian 7

Region 11
Alliance Marlington 35, Dover 23

Region 12
Cincinnati McNicholas 39, Eaton 14

Division V

Region 17
Youngstown Ursuline 48, Kirtland 0

Region 18
Lima Central Catholic 28, Jeromesville Hillsdale 19

Region 19
Fredericktown 28, Oak Hill 21

Region 20
Coldwater 44, West Jefferson 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *