Boys State Tennis Tournament starts Friday; Over 30 players earn return trip


Lakota West’s Wyatt Lippert is out to defend his Division I singles state title. (Photo by Nick Falzerano)

The 90th annual OHSAA Boys State Tennis Tournaments start Friday and conclude Saturday on the campus of The
Ohio State University. All told over 30 players punched a return ticket to the state tournament, including defending Division I state singles champion Wyatt Lippert of West Chester Lakota West. New Albany’s Peter Kobalt, the D-I runner-up last year, is also back.


WHAT: 90th Annual OHSAA Boys State Tennis Tournaments.

Friday, May 29 and Saturday, May 30 on the campus of The Ohio State University (2491 Olentangy River Road, Columbus 43210). The tennis courts are adjacent to the Woody Hayes Athletic Center.

First and second rounds in Division I and II singles and doubles begin at 9 a.m. Friday; semifinals and finals in Division I and II singles and doubles begin at 9 a.m. Saturday. Division I plays first this year.

$8 per person each day.

Some parking is available at the Stickney Tennis Center. Additional parking is available in the Buckeye Lots, which are located west of the Stickney Tennis Center off of Fred Taylor Drive. To get to the Buckeye Lots, take the Ackerman Road exit off of State Route 315 and head east. At the first light, turn right on to Fred Taylor Drive and follow a short distance until you reach the Buckeye Lots on the right. Once you exit your vehicle, walk east and pass the north side of the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium followed by the north side of the Woody Hayes Athletic Center, and you will arrive at the Stickney Tennis Center on your left.

Pairings for the 2009 state tournament are currently available on the OHSAA Web site ( by going to “Sports” followed by “Boys Tennis.” Results from the tournament will be posted as soon as possible following each round at the same location on the site.

Sixteen singles players and 16 doubles teams have qualified in both divisions, where individual champions will be crowned. Matches in the single elimination tournament are the best two out of three sets and will be played on 12 courts.

In Division I, four singles players and four doubles teams have qualified from the combined central, east and southeast districts. Six singles players and six doubles teams have qualified from the northeast district. Two singles players and two doubles teams have qualified from the northwest and four singles players and four doubles teams have qualified from the southwest.

In Division II, four singles players and four doubles teams have qualified from the combined central, east and southeast districts. Five singles players and five doubles teams have qualified from the northeast. Three singles players and three doubles teams have qualified from the northwest and four singles players and four doubles teams have qualified from the southwest.


Division I – Singles
Arren Carter (Jr., Powell Olentangy Liberty) – 2008, 2007
Ethan Dunbar (Jr., Lodi Cloverleaf) – 2007Andy Jackson (Sr., Vandalia Butler) – 2007 (4th, Doubles)
Peter Kobelt (Sr., New Albany) – 2008 (2nd), 2007 (1st, Div. II Doubles), 2006 (2nd, Div. II Doubles)
Wyatt Lippert (Sr., West Chester Lakota West) – 2008 (1st), 2007 (3rd), 2006 (3rd)
Nolan Marks (So., Chagrin Falls Kenston) – 2008
Tommy Marx (So., Shaker Heights) – 2008 (3rd)
Robert Salcedo (Sr., Boardman) – 2008 (3rd, Doubles), 2007 (3rd, Doubles)
Nicky Wong (So., Lexington) – 2008

Division I – Doubles
Philip Diaz (Sr.)/Chris Diaz (So., Cols. Bishop Watterson) – 2008 (1st); Philip also 2006 singles
Jacob Kuhn (Sr.)/Josef Pontasch (Jr., Toledo St. John’s Jesuit) – 2008
James Melvin (Sr., Upper Arlington) – 2007
Jonny Price (Sr., Worthington Kilbourne) – 2008
William Weldon (So., Upper Arlington) – 2008

Division II – Singles
Evan Bechtel (So., Toledo Ottawa Hills) – 2008
Colin Bernier (So., Canton Central Catholic) – 2008 (4th, Doubles)
Ben Brocker (Jr., Poland Seminary) – 2008
Michael Fredericka (So., Warren John F. Kennedy) – 2008
Joey Fritz (Jr., Cincinnati Country Day) – 2008 (3rd), 2007
Mark Goldberg (Jr., Beachwood) – 2008 (2nd, Doubles), 2007
Eyad Jarra (Jr., Tol. Maumee Valley Country Day) – 2007
Evan Neuman (Sr., Elida) – 2008, 2007 (4th, Doubles), 2006 (3rd, Doubles)
Ian Wagner (So., Cols. Wellington School) – 2008 (4th)

Division II – Doubles
Andrew Enslen (Jr.)/Joey Frank (Sr., Gahanna Cols. Academy) – 2008
David Gerson (Jr.)/Charlie Marks (Jr., Gates Mills Hawken) – 2008
Blake Troller (Jr., Port Clinton) – 2008
Preston Phillips (Sr., Bexley) – 2008, 2007
Alex Aleman (So., Cuy. Falls Cuy. Valley Christian Acad.) – 2008
Austin Griffin (Sr.)/Eoghan Bahnson (Jr., Gahanna Cols. Acad.) – 2008
Matt Tesmond (Sr., Cincinnati Seven Hills) – 2008 (3rd), 2007
Seth Udelson (Jr., Hunting Valley University School) – 2008


Division I singles: West Chester Lakota West junior Wyatt Lippert won the championship with a 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 win over New Albany junior Peter Kobelt. Lippert had placed third the past two years, while Kobelt was a state doubles champ in 2007 and runner-up in 2006 in Division II.

Lippert reached the finals by defeating Shaker Heights freshman Tommy Marx in the semifinals, while Kobelt defeated Cincinnati Oak Hills senior Chris Keck. In the second round, Kobelt was a three-set winner over defending state runner-up Patrick Bandy, a senior from Cincinnati St. Xavier. Marx won the third-place match.

Division II Singles:
Cincinnati Indian Hill junior Devin McCarthy captured the title with a 6-4, 6-4 win over Gahanna Columbus Academy senior Will Petrie. McCarthy was on the state runner-up doubles team in 2007 and state championship doubles team in 2006, while Petrie had placed third in singles the past two years.

McCarthy reached the finals by defeating Columbus Wellington School freshman Ian Wagner in the semis, while Petrie defeated Cincinnati Country Day sophomore Joey Fritz. Fritz won the third-place match.

Division I Doubles:
Columbus Bishop Watterson brothers Philip (a junior) and Chris (a freshman) Diaz took home the gold medals with a 7-5, 6-4 win over Cincinnati St. Xavier seniors Jon Gaffney and Marc Pretorius. The Diaz brothers defeated

Middletown’s defending champions, junior Michael Cole and senior Patrick Hamning, in the quarterfinals. Gaffney played on the doubles teams that were the 2007 state runners-up and 2006 state champions.

The Diaz’s defeated Youngstown Boardman senior Scott War¬den and junior Robert Salcedo in the semifinals, while Gaffney and Pretorius stopped Cincinnati Turpin seniors Will Knoll and Sam Wilke. Warden and Salcedo took the third-place match.

Division II Doubles:
Cincinnati Indian Hill senior Billy Strunk and junior Omar Salama won the championship with a 1-6, 6-4, 7-6 (8-6) victory over Beachwood senior Grant Aronson and sophomore Mark Goldberg.

Strunk and Salama defeated Canton Central Catholic senior John Esber and freshman Colin Bernier in the semifinals, and Aronson and Goldberg upended Cincinnati Seven Hills senior Sam Laber and junior Matt Tesmond. Esber and Bernier won the third-place match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *