Four Ohio gridders, two coaches named to USA Football’s Junior National Team


(Clockwise) Storm Klein, Jack Mewhort, Brian Smith and Pat Hinkel have been named to USA Football’s 2009 Junior National Team

National recognition continues to come in for Ohio’s 2009 football class.

Four Buckeye-Staters have been selected to USA Football’s first
Junior National Team and will compete against the world’s best in
Canton in June.

New Page 1

National recognition continues to come in for Ohio’s 2009 football class.

Four Buckeye-Staters have been selected to USA Football’s first Junior National Team and will compete against the world’s best in Canton in June.

Newark Licking Valley RB/LB Storm Klein and Toledo St. John’s C/OL Jack
Mewhort, who both graduated high school early and are currently enrolled at Ohio
State , have been selected to play for USA Football’s 2009 Junior National Team.

Miami (Ohio) recruit Pat Hinkle of Cleveland St. Ignatius and Northwestern
signee Brian Smith from Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit have also been selected to
the team.

The four Ohio players are among 45 student-athletes that will play on
America’s first national team in the sport comprised of players aged 19 and

Klein was a three-time all-state performer and was named Ohio’s Gatorade
Player of the Year for 2008. He rushed for 1,797 yards and 24 touchdowns
recording 48 tackles and two sacks for state semifinalist Licking Valley. The Panthers were Division III state runners-up with Klein on the field as a junior.
Named a Super Prep Midwest Top 20 player, Klein advanced to state in wrestling
as a sophomore and also was a baseball standout.

Mewhort, all-Ohio, all-Toledo City League, and
Detroit Free Press
“Best of the Midwest,” excelled at center, tackle and
guard for St. John’s. A participant in the Under Armour All-America game,
Mewhort was named on Super Prep Midwest’s Top 25 list.

Hinkel starred at running back and safety for 2008 State Champion St.
Ignatius and Smith anchored the line for regional finalist Walsh Jesuit.

Two out-of-state players on the roster that will be playing their college
ball in Ohio – both in the MAC Conference – including Robert Bell of East Grand
Rapids (Mich.) and Jordan Roussos of Carlynton (Pa.). Bell is signed with Toledo
and Roussos will suit up for Bowling Green, respectively.

USA Football’s Junior National Team is led by Cleveland St. Ignatius head
coach Chuck Kyle, who has led his Wildcats to 10 of Ohio’s past 21 state titles,
including two USA Today national championships. Assisting Kyle will be
Cincinnati St. Xavier head coach Steve Specht, who led the Bombers to state
titles in 2005 and 2007.

USA Football’s 2009 Junior National Team

Player High School Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown College & Head Coach
Oday Aboushi Brooklyn (N.Y.) Xaverian OL 6-6 300 Brooklyn, N.Y. Virginia; Al Groh
Robert Bell East Grand Rapids LB 6-0 222 Grand Rapids, Mich. Toledo; Tim Beckman
Kevin Cummings Culver City (Calif.) Crespi WR 6-2 180 Encino, Calif. Oregon State; Mike Riley
Zach Cutkomp West Des Moines Valley RB 5-11 185 West Des Moines, Iowa Northern Iowa; Mark Farley
Jamal Davis Coral Springs (Fla.) Charter WR 6-3 185 Coral Springs, Fla. Florida Atlantic; Howard Schnellenberger
Aaron Dobson South Charleston (W.Va.) WR 6-3 185 Dunbar, W.Va. Marshall; Mark Snyder
Tariq Edwards Marlboro (S.C.) County LB 6-3 215 Cheraw, S.C. Virginia Tech; Frank Beamer
A.J. Ferguson South Brunswick (N.C.) DE 6-3 250 Southport, N.C. N.C. State; Tom O’Brien
Brian Fields New Castle (Del.) William Penn RB 5-9 190 New Castle, Del. Western Michigan; Bill Cubit
Noel Grigsby Los Angeles Crenshaw WR 5-11 175 Los Angeles, Calif. San Jose State; Dick Tomey
James Hall Las Cruces (N.M.) RB 5-8 170 Las Cruces, N.M. New Mexico St.; DeWayne Walker
Chris Henderson Dallas Carter DT 6-1 280 Dallas, Texas Texas A&M; Mike Sherman
Pat Hinkel Cleveland St. Ignatius S 6-1 190 Cleveland, Ohio Miami (Ohio); Michael Haywood
Storm Klein Licking Valley (Ohio) LB 6-2 225 Newark, Ohio Ohio State; Jim Tressel
Corey Lillard Bealeton (Va.) Liberty S 5-11 205 Remington, Va. Virginia; Al Groh
Mike Loftus Anaheim (Calif.) Servite P/K 6-2 190 Anaheim, Calif. SMU; June Jones
Erik Lora Miami Christopher Columbus WR 5-11 175 Miami, Fla. Eastern Illinois; Bob Spoo
Jordan Lynch Chicago Mount Carmel S 6-2 205 Chicago, Ill. Northern Illinois; Jerry Kill
J.R. McConico Venice (Calif.) CB 5-9 175 Los Angeles, Calif. SMU; June Jones
Jack Mewhort Toledo (Ohio) St. John’s C 6-6 285 Toledo, Ohio Ohio State; Jim Tressel
Khaled Mheisen Detroit Central Catholic DL 6-5 290 Detroit, Mich. Undecided
Chris Norman Detroit Renaissance LB 6-2 225 Detroit, Mich. Michigan State; Mark Dantonio
Matthew Page East Chicago Central OL 6-6 300 East Chicago, Ill. Ball State; Stan Parrish
Chris Payne Columbia (S.C) S 5-10 173 Columbia, S.C. South Carolina; Steve Spurrier
Bryce Petty Midlothian (Texas) QB 6-3 220 Midlothian, Texas Baylor; Art Briles
John Plasencia Tampa Jesuit TE 6-5 245 Tampa, Fla. Northwestern; Pat Fitzgerald
Jordan Poyer Astoria (Ore.) CB 6-1 180 Astoria, Ore. Oregon State; Mike Riley
Tevin Reese Temple (Texas) WR 5-11 160 Temple, Texas Baylor; Art Briles
Micajah Reynolds Lansing (Mich.) Sexton G 6-5 310 Lansing, Mich. Michigan State; Mark Dantonio
Jordan Roussos Carlynton (Pa.) DE 6-4 240 Carnegie, Pa. Bowling Green; Dave Clawson
Bryce Schwindt Columbine (Colo.) OL 6-3 280 Littleton, Colo. Northern Colorado; Scott Downing
Brian Smith Cuyahoga Falls (Ohio) Walsh Jesuit OL 6-7 277 Medina, Ohio Northwestern; Pat Fitzgerald
Kurt Stottlemyer Bothell (Wash.) S 5-10 165 Bothell, Wash. Yale; Tom Williams
Evan Swindall LaFayette (Ga.) C 6-3 290 LaFayette, Ga. Mississippi; Houston Nutt
David Wilson Danville (Va.) George Washington RB 5-11 192 Danville, Va. Virginia Tech; Frank Beamer
Nick Zachery Sheridan (Ind.) CB 6-1 200 Sheridan, Ind. Indiana; Bill Lynch

Players selected for USA Football’s Junior National Team were nominated by
high school and college coaches from around the country. Roster selections are
ultimately determined by USA Football’s coaching staff, which collectively
possesses 33 state titles and 155 high school head coaching seasons of

USA Football’s Junior National Team Coaching Staff

Chuck Kyle Head Coach Cleveland St. Ignatius
Steve Specht Defensive Coordinator Cincinnati St. Xavier
Gary Swenson Offensive Coordinator West Des Moines (Iowa) Valley
Tom Bainter Running Backs Bothell (Wash.)
Marcus Boyles Wide Receivers Wayne County (Miss.)
Ed Croson Offensive Line West Hills (Calif.) Chaminade
Jeremy Gold Defensive Line Ann Arbor (Mich.) Pioneer
Frank Lenti Offensive Line Chicago Mount Carmel
Chris Merritt Defensive Backs Miami Christopher Columbus
Allen Wilson Linebackers Dallas Carter

About USA Football

Independent non-profit USA Football, the sport’s national governing body on
youth and amateur levels, manages U.S. national teams within the sport for
international competitions. USA Football hosts more than 100 football training
events annually and is comprised of members in all 50 states (coaches, game
officials, youth league commissioners). The organization also provides more than
$1 million annually in equipment grants and youth league volunteer background
check subsidies. USA Football, America’s sole delegate to the International
Federation of American Football, which spans 52 nations and five continents, was
started by the NFL and NFLPA in 2002 through the NFL Youth Football Fund and is
chaired by former U.S. Congressman and professional quarterback Jack Kemp.

For more information, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *