D-V Regional Quarterfinals: Kirtland, Waynesville among teams that get first win


Division V Playoffs

There were several solid showings by Division V teams Saturday in the
regional quarterfinals. Among the winners were Youngstown Ursuline, Marion Local, Liberty-Benton, Patrick Henry and Archbold.

There were several solid showings by Division V teams Saturday in the
regional quarterfinals. Among the winners were Youngstown Ursuline, Marion Local, Liberty-Benton, Patrick Henry and Archbold.

Region 17
Youngstown Ursuline 27, Cuyahoga Heights 7
Columbiana Crestview 41, Apple Creek Waynedale 12
Kirtland 63, North Lima South Range 7
Gates Mills Gilmour Academy 48, Creston Norwayne 21

Region 18
Hamler Patrick Henry 38, Ashland Crestview 7
Findlay Liberty-Benton 34, Delphos Jefferson 0
Archbold 26, Liberty Center 6
Bucyrus Wynford 40, Sherwood Fairview 34

Region 19
Portsmouth West 26, West Lafayette Ridgewood 7
Wheelersburg 14, Minford 6
Baltimore Liberty Union 15, Nelsonville-York 14
Columbus Bishop Ready 21, Johnstown-Monroe 17

Region 20
Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy 43, Lees Creek East Clinton 13
Marion Local 13, Anna 3
Waynesville 34, West Liberty-Salem 9
W. Jefferson 20, Casstown Miami E. 7

Waynesville earns school’s first postseason victory
By Eric Frantz, JJHuddle.com Managing Editor

WAYNESVILLE – Friday five teams became the first from their school to win a playoff game. Saturday Waynesville followed suit.

The Spartans captivated an overflow crowd at Clinton Fultz Field with an impressive 34-9 win over West Liberty-Salem in a Division V, Region 20 quarterfinal. It was a rematch of last year’s opening round game in West Liberty won by the Tigers 45-21.

The win was Waynesville’s first in four postseason trips.

“This has been a long time coming,” junior running back Seth Millar said. “In July at our team camp we said our goals were a league championship, a home playoff game and to win a playoff game.”

“We did all three,” Spartans head coach Glen Burchfield said. “I just told them I don’t know where we’re going next week but we’re going and that’s the big thing. I’ve kissed and hugged so many people I don’t know what to say. I’m a little overwhelmed at this point.”

It’s hard to be more popular than sauerkraut and antiques in this Warren County village, but the Spartans have succeeded.

Saturday was the final helmet sticker of what has been a historic season of Waynesville football.


– The Spartans won the Southwestern Buckeye League Buckeye Division with an undefeated 5-0 record and handed Lemon-Monroe its first SWBL loss since joining the league three years ago.

– Waynesville earned the school’s second home playoff game and became the first team in school history to string together consecutive postseason appearances.

– Senior linebacker Joe Hernandez set the school’s single-season tackles record Saturday with over 145.

– Senior defensive back/wide receiver Brady Deters set the school’s career interception record with one in the third quarter Saturday that pushed his tally to 13. On the Spartans last defensive play of the game Deters added No. 14. Deters opened the game with a 64-yard touchdown catch from Cory Young on the Spartans first offensive play.

– Thanks to this season and his 25 touchdowns, Millar now owns the school’s single season and career TD marks. He’s visited the end zone 53 times overall in three years.

Millar had three TDs Saturday on runs of 69, 45 and 8 yards. All three came in the second half and nailed close a decision that was still in doubt at halftime with Waynesville holding a 14-9 edge.

“Second half you could tell we wanted it more,” Millar said. “(Losing to WLS last year) left a bad taste in our mouth. We lost by three TDs and we weren’t going to let it happen again at our place.”

“Six years ago when this regime took over (winning in the playoffs) was a goal for us,” Burchfield said. “No one in Waynesville history had ever won a playoff game and we finally put it together. Every year we’ve gotten better and better. We finally achieved the crowning glory.”

Week 12 is new for the Spartans but their opponent isn’t. Although they have a limited playoff history, some of that does involve Maria Stein Marion Local. In 1981 Waynesville finished the regular season 10-0 and was the Division IV AP state champions. The Spartans lost to the Flyers in the first round of the playoffs.

The two meet again next Saturday at a site yet to be determined.

“All I know is Sunday I’ll meet someone for film exchange and we’ll start the process all over again,” Burchfield said. “But they won’t ever take this one away from us.”

Said Millar: “We don’t want to be done yet.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *