Beavercreek aiming for second winning season in 19 years


Beavercreek Battling Beavers Football

Beavercreek enjoyed its first winning season in 18 years in 2007 and coach Scott Clodfelter returns for his fifth year at the helm.

The Beavers suffered some key loses to graduation but return some experience in 2008.


LB Cody Smith, RB-WR Joe Joyce, WR Brad Sundstrom (6-5, 200, Jr.), OL Nick Jones (6-2, 240).


The Beavers enjoyed their first winning season in 18 years in 2007. Coach Scott Clodfelter returns for his fifth year at the helm.

Beavercreek lost several key pieces to the puzzle from last year, including QB-S Zach Domicone (Ohio State), Jeremy LaVoie (walking on at Ohio State as a long snapper) and Justin Hull (walk-on at Ohio U.).

“The Beavers suffered several losses to graduation,” Clodfelter said. “But we still return a lot of experience. We compete in the GWOC Central, which is one of the strongest leagues in the state of Ohio.

“For us to be successful, this year we must rely on an experienced offensive line and a sound, stingy defense.”

Smith tallied 143 tackles last year at linebacker. Joyce was a first-team All-GWOC pick last season.

Clodfelter discussed the challenges on Beavercreek’s schedule.

“Carroll is a huge game for us,” he said. “It is an inner-city rivalry. Fairmont is a big game as well. The last four meetings have been decided by two overtimes and two games of less than seven points.”

2008 Schedule

Aug. 22 at Dayton Stebbins

Aug. 29 Dayton Carroll

Sept. 5 Sidney

Sept. 12 at Fairborn

Sept. 19 Xenia

Sept. 26 at Kettering Fairmont

Oct. 3 Centerville

Oct. 10 at Huber Heights Wayne

Oct. 17 Springfield

Oct. 24 at Clayton Northmont

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *