Flyin to the Hoop ready for sixth year; Event moves to Trent Arena


Flyin To The Hoop
For the sixth year the Flyin To The Hoop Boys' High School Basketball Invitational will be contested over the Martin Luther King, Jr. weekend. Twenty teams from Ohio and around the country will invade Fairmont's Trent Arena for three days of basketball action and 16 games. Ohio teams Canal Winchester, Centerville, Huber Heights Wayne, Dayton Jefferson, Kettering Alter and more will tangle with some of the nation's best prep schools.

Every sports franchise changes uniforms and this year the Flyin To The Hoop Boys' High School Basketball Invitational changes its look.

After a five year stay at the Vandalia-Butler High School Student Activities Center, the FTTH moves to a new locale – the James S. Trent Arena on the campus of Kettering Fairmont High School in south suburban Dayton, Ohio. The FTTH offers a unique combination of area and national talent. Here Miami Valley teams such as Centerville, Kettering Alter, Wayne, Jefferson and host Fairmont compete amongst some of the country and regions best preparatory and private schools.

The talent is unquestioned.

And that was the goal.

When FTTH founder and president Eric Horstman attended his first Slam Dunk to the Beach national basketball tournament in 1998 he was immediately struck by the atmosphere and excitement generated. There in the small coastal town of Lewes, Delaware, 2,500 people packed the gymnasium to see some of the best high school hoop talent in the country. Although the Sam Dunk is now defunct, it got Horstman thinking.

Three years later Horstman pitched the idea of a tournament to Butler athletic director Roger Bowen. A location was secured. Sponsors followed.

In January of 2003 the first Flyin to the Hoop invitational was held with great success. Nationally acclaimed Oak Hill Academy (of Mouth of Wilson, Va.) played as did a bevy of individual talents. Our Savior New American won the initial tournament and three future NBAers made the 2003 FTTH all-tournament team: J.R. Smith (St. Benedict’s Prep, Newark, NJ), Von Wafer (Heritage Christian, Houston, TX) and Rudy Gay (Archbishop Spalding).

Smith and Wafer are teammates on the Denver Nuggets, while Gay is with the Memphis Grizzlies.

In additioon to those three, two additional NBAers also played in the inaugural 2003 event: Josh Boone (West Nottingham Academy) and Marcus Williams (Oak Hill Academy). NBDL player J.R. Pinnock (Coastal Christian) also performed.

Since that first impressionable year FTTH has continued to grow and offer great talent.

Other notable alumns include former Ohio State standouts Ivan Harris (Oak Hill Academy) and Daequan Cook (Dayton Dunbar). Cook is a rookie with the Miami Heat.

Over 50 current NCAA Division I players have appeared at FTTH. Some colleges sporting FTTH alumni on their roster include Ohio State, Gonzaga, Alabama, Temple, Kansas, Auburn, Iowa State, George Washington, Missouri, South Carolina, Miami, Tennessee, Michigan State, Xavier and Virginia.

After its successful stay at the Butler SAC, FTTH moves into Trent Arena.

Trent Arena stands as a testament to the Kettering School District and was completed in October of 2005. It was part of a larger 102 million-dollar construction process that encompassed the entire district, which owns and operates the venue.

On December 2, 2005 the arena was dedicated to James S. Trent former principal and Superintendent of the Kettering School District. The event marked the opening of the 2005-06 Fairmont boys basketball season, and the first ever sellout crowd. Trent seats 3,650.

Ironically, Jim Trent was the first person to purchase tickets for this year’s event and has been one of its’ biggest supporters and fans while at Vandalia and now even more now that it is at the Trent.

This year FTTH looks to add to its legacy.

Again saddled with a standout line-up there is a great mixture of hometown teams, out-of-town talent and solid basketball.

Buckle up and get ready for take off.


Saturday, January 19, 2008
Game #1: 12:30 pm Providence Christian (SC) vs. Nashville Christian Academy (TN)
Game #2: 2:15 pm Harmony Prep (OH) vs. Milestone (MO)
Game #3: 4:00 pm Findlay Prep (NV) vs. Bedford (OH)
Game #4: 5:45 pm Trotwood (OH) vs. Westbury Christian (TX)
Game #5: 7:30 pm Central Crossing (OH) vs. Kettering (OH)

Sunday, January 20, 2008
Game #6: 11:00 am Summit Prep (CA) vs. Harmony Prep (OH)
Game #7: 12:30 pm Future Academy (NC) vs. Nashville Christian Academy (TN)
Game #8: 2:15 pm Providence Christian (SC) vs. Alter (OH)
Game #9: 4:00 pm Milestone (MO) vs. Middletown (OH)
Game #10: 5:45 pm Summit Prep (CA) vs. Our Savior New American (NY)
Game #11: 7:30 pm Findlay Prep (NV) vs. Centerville (OH)

Monday, January 21, 2008
Game #12: 11:30 am Jefferson (OH) vs. Harmony Prep (OH)
Game #13: 1:15 pm Westbury Christian (TX) vs. Toledo St. John’s (OH)
Game #14: 3:00 pm Providence Christian (SC) vs. Findlay Prep (NV)
Game #15: 4:45 pm Milestone (MO) vs. Wayne (OH)
Game #16: 6:30 pm Our Savior New American (NY) vs. Canal Winchester (OH)

For more information visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *